Category Archives: YA

New from author Elise Abram

The New Recruit

When sixteen-year-old Judith meets Cain, she has no idea what she’s getting herself into. Cain is the most beautiful human being Judith has ever seen, but he hides a dangerous secret. When Jo-Jo, Cain’s surrogate father, offers her a job, she accepts, unaware she’s been recruited as a pawn in Jo-Jo’s ecoterrorist plot.

THE NEW RECRUIT is a timely story, exploring how, without love and support from those around them, our disenfranchised youth can be so easily misguided.

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Girls & Women
Pages: 214
Release Date: 1 July 17
Blog Tour Date: 1 – 8 July 17

Buy Links: http://emsapublishing.com/books/the-new-recruit/

From the press release:

Sixteen-year-old Judith Abraham feels like an outsider. She has just transferred to a new school, has only one friend, and suffers from social anxiety, but when recruiter Cain Barrett offers her a job, her whole life changes. Things are great at first, but the more she learns about Cain’s world of climate crusaders, the more she questions his motives behind singling her out. Will Judith find a way out before it’s too late?

THE NEW RECRUIT is the first book of a trilogy (followed by Indoctrination) by author Elise Abram, winner of the 2015 A Woman’s Write competition for I WAS, AM, WILL BE ALICE. THE NEW RECRUIT is a young adult contemporary romance for the new millennium. In a time when jobs are scarce, politics are unstable, and the future is uncertain, millennials are ripe for recruitment by cults, groups offering a stable world view in exchange for total devotion. THE NEW RECRUIT is meant to be a cautionary tale exploring how, without love and support from those around them, our disenfranchised youth can be so easily misguided.

Win one of three eCopies of THE NEW RECRUIT by Elise Abram

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

The Blog Tour

Follow Elise Abram as THE NEW RECRUIT tours the globe. See the blog tour itinerary at http://eliseabram.com/blog-tour

 

New from author Michelle Areaux

CAPTURED on Blog Tour

Hallie and Jackson can’t catch a break. No sooner have they returned from being on the run than Jackson is kidnapped. Such is the life of a mob daughter.

After witnessing a hit ordered by their fathers in RUNAWAY, lifelong friends Hallie and Jackson run from their New York home in fear of their lives. While on the run, they discover their relationship is more than friendly. In CAPTURED, the sequel, they return home and try to resume a sense of normalcy, but there’s a new kingpin in town intent on making a name for himself by extorting a piece of their fathers’ business, kidnapping Jackson as leverage. Hallie and Jackson’s fathers try to rescue him, but they move too slowly for Hallie’s liking. Will Hallie be successful when she decides to take matters into her own hands, or will she be in need of rescuing herself?  

CAPTURED is the second book in the RUNAWAY series published by EMSA Publishing by author Michelle Areaux, a contemporary young-to-new adult romance adventure. Michelle Areaux is the author of many, successful contemporary young adult books, including the WICKED CRIES series. Areaux balances life as a Language Arts teacher, wife, and mother from her base in Nicholasville, Kentucky.  

Blog Tour Itinerary

 

Win one of three copies of CAPTURED by Michelle Areaux!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Itinerary for GAZORE!

banner

A boring day at the mall turns into the adventure of a lifetime!  Doug and his brother Sebastian go into the Build-A-Creature store, but when the creature they build comes to life, they’re left behind to clean up the mess. Before they know it, they’re avoiding a creepy guy who seems to be everywhere and running from a GOT agent.  

Put on your helmet when reading Gazore! because you’re in for a bumpy ride full of chaotic hijinks, against the backdrop of a sweet romance. But it’s the healthy dose of verse in rhyme, that gives Gazore! it’s lasting charm.

EMSA Publishing is proud to announce the December 5, 2016 release of Gazore!, a contemporary fantasy adventure with creatures, humor and verse. Gazore! teaches responsibility—even though Doug didn’t really cause the calamity, it is his creature responsible, and Doug never runs. Instead, he uses his critical thinking skills to get the whole town out of their jam.  This book is perfect for young adult readers, and for adults to read to their school-age children. Fans of Build-A-Bear, and Dr. Seuss will love Gazore!

Follow Gazore!’s blog tour before December 10, 2016 to win one of three eCopies of the book below:

Will Hallewell’s Gazore! is scheduled for a December 4, 2016 release. Here’s the itinerary for the tour:

Participate in a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 free eCopies of Gazore! by Will Hallewell! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Itinerary for I WAS, AM, WILL BE ALICE

blog tour banner

Elise Abram‘s I Was, Am, Will Be Alice was released on July 12, 2016 release, and is now available in stores.

Here’s the itinerary so far:

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 eCopies of I Was, Am, Will Be Alice.

Blog Tour Itinerary for TAG: A CAUTIONARY TALE

tag tour banner_edited-1

In the race to be king, there can be only one winner

Tag, Red Rover, King of the Hill…children’s games are an allegory for real world competition.

Think of the race for President of the United States as a game of Tag, with the entire country as the playing field.

The candidates, usually boys, are the players.

Before long, the players realize that no man is an island and they form two teams. Eventually the leader of the first team emerges. It takes a while longer, but the second team eventually decides which of the two forerunners should be their rightful leader.

But that’s not enough. In the game of Tag, there can ultimately be only a single winner, the King of the Hill. The race for King is cutthroat. Lives may be lost, reputations tarnished, back-alley deals are struck and broken. They say that to the victor goes the spoils—in this race, the victor will take his spoils, even if it he must turn his kingdom into a vast wasteland to get them.

EMSA Publishing is pleased to announce the release of Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings. A contemporary, young adult, satire that draws parallels between the world of politics and the games children play. The world of politics is a high-stakes, dangerous game; playing Tag on Arabella Hill is no different.

In the race to rule Arabella Hill, there can be only one winner. Read Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings to find out who will reign supreme.

John CollingsTag: A Cautionary Tale is scheduled for a July 5, 2016 release (though it is already available in stores).

Here’s the itinerary so far (in no particular order):

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win one of three free eCopies of Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings!

Cover Poll – “I Was, Am, Will Be Alice”

EMSA Publishing is pleased to announce the release of I Was, Am, Will be Alice by Elise Abram this summer. I Was, Am, Will be Alice takes its inspiration from The Time Traveler’s Wife and Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-glass.  At its heart, Alice is a  contemporary, Young Adult, coming of age novel, that will appeal to middle grade through adult readers.

In I Was, Am, Will Be Alice, after narrowly escaping death in a school shooting, 9 year old Alice Carroll realizes she can time travel when under extreme stress, a situation she is determined to learn to control in order to go back to the day of the shooting to save the lives of her teacher and classmates and to discover the identity of the woman who sacrificed herself so Alice could live.

We need your help deciding on which is the most striking cover. Vote for the cover mock-up that grabs your attention, and seems to best illustrate the tone and storyline. Which one would you be most likely to buy if you saw it on Amazon or in a book store? The poll closes at midnight on 6 April 16. Feel free to vote for your top 3 choices.

Thanking you in advance for your help,

EMSA Publishing.

Why you should be writing YA

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

I have a confession to make: I write YA.

When I set out of my writing odyssey, never once did I consider writing young adult fiction (or YA). But the more I taught teens, and the more I spoke with colleagues teaching English and in the library at school, the more curious I became about it.

And after writing two YA novels and finishing up a third, I have to admit, writing YA feels like coming home.

If you’ve never considered writing YA, here are three reasons why you should give the genre a try.

1. Everyone relates

Every single adult on the face of this earth was a young adult at one point in time. And while I may never have had to compete for my life in a game, or never attended wizard school, I can nevertheless relate. Writing YA forces me to think outside of my comfort zone, to a time when bullies scared me,  and I had to fight my parents for my independence, and I wanted to die after getting a huge, red and white zit on the tip of my nose. Writing YA brings me back to a time when even the smallest failure felt like a catastrophe. Now imagine being at a tender age and a part of a real catastrophe. Facing a major event you don’t understand from a heightened, hormonal point of view can’t help but make for an interesting story.

2. Shy away from nothing

Remember Judy Blume? She was popular in the seventies and eighties because she wrote about sexual awakening, acceptance in the family unit, and questioning your religion. Times have changed drastically since then. War continues to be a threat for some and a reality for so many. Terrorism, cyber-bullying, sexual predators, drugs and date rape are also reality in too many social spheres. YA fiction depicts teens coping in the modern world with issues that might send any sane adult into the corner to weep.  Seeing someone cope with their problems and emerge victorious can’t be anything but empowering for readers of all ages.

3. Writing YA is hard challenging

YA fiction is not a watered down version of its adult counterpart, and writing it is hard. Narratives have to be smart with endearing, quick-witted characters. Worlds have to be immersive. Storylines must be believable. If you take YA on as a challenge, you will go down in the annals of literature with the likes of JK Rowling, Veronica Roth, Jodi Picoult, Johm Green, and James Dashner—no small feat….if you are up to it.

What genre do you write in? Is your manuscript complete? Whether you write for middle-grade (8 – 12), young adults (12 – 18), new adults (18+) or just plain adults, EMSA Publishing wants to hear from you.