Category Archives: YA

Blog Tour Itinerary for GAZORE!

banner

A boring day at the mall turns into the adventure of a lifetime!  Doug and his brother Sebastian go into the Build-A-Creature store, but when the creature they build comes to life, they’re left behind to clean up the mess. Before they know it, they’re avoiding a creepy guy who seems to be everywhere and running from a GOT agent.  

Put on your helmet when reading Gazore! because you’re in for a bumpy ride full of chaotic hijinks, against the backdrop of a sweet romance. But it’s the healthy dose of verse in rhyme, that gives Gazore! it’s lasting charm.

EMSA Publishing is proud to announce the December 5, 2016 release of Gazore!, a contemporary fantasy adventure with creatures, humor and verse. Gazore! teaches responsibility—even though Doug didn’t really cause the calamity, it is his creature responsible, and Doug never runs. Instead, he uses his critical thinking skills to get the whole town out of their jam.  This book is perfect for young adult readers, and for adults to read to their school-age children. Fans of Build-A-Bear, and Dr. Seuss will love Gazore!

Follow Gazore!’s blog tour before December 10, 2016 to win one of three eCopies of the book below:

Will Hallewell’s Gazore! is scheduled for a December 4, 2016 release. Here’s the itinerary for the tour:

Participate in a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 free eCopies of Gazore! by Will Hallewell! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Itinerary for I WAS, AM, WILL BE ALICE

blog tour banner

Elise Abram‘s I Was, Am, Will Be Alice was released on July 12, 2016 release, and is now available in stores.

Here’s the itinerary so far:

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 eCopies of I Was, Am, Will Be Alice.

Blog Tour Itinerary for TAG: A CAUTIONARY TALE

tag tour banner_edited-1

In the race to be king, there can be only one winner

Tag, Red Rover, King of the Hill…children’s games are an allegory for real world competition.

Think of the race for President of the United States as a game of Tag, with the entire country as the playing field.

The candidates, usually boys, are the players.

Before long, the players realize that no man is an island and they form two teams. Eventually the leader of the first team emerges. It takes a while longer, but the second team eventually decides which of the two forerunners should be their rightful leader.

But that’s not enough. In the game of Tag, there can ultimately be only a single winner, the King of the Hill. The race for King is cutthroat. Lives may be lost, reputations tarnished, back-alley deals are struck and broken. They say that to the victor goes the spoils—in this race, the victor will take his spoils, even if it he must turn his kingdom into a vast wasteland to get them.

EMSA Publishing is pleased to announce the release of Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings. A contemporary, young adult, satire that draws parallels between the world of politics and the games children play. The world of politics is a high-stakes, dangerous game; playing Tag on Arabella Hill is no different.

In the race to rule Arabella Hill, there can be only one winner. Read Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings to find out who will reign supreme.

John CollingsTag: A Cautionary Tale is scheduled for a July 5, 2016 release (though it is already available in stores).

Here’s the itinerary so far (in no particular order):

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win one of three free eCopies of Tag: A Cautionary Tale by John Collings!

Cover Poll – “I Was, Am, Will Be Alice”

EMSA Publishing is pleased to announce the release of I Was, Am, Will be Alice by Elise Abram this summer. I Was, Am, Will be Alice takes its inspiration from The Time Traveler’s Wife and Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-glass.  At its heart, Alice is a  contemporary, Young Adult, coming of age novel, that will appeal to middle grade through adult readers.

In I Was, Am, Will Be Alice, after narrowly escaping death in a school shooting, 9 year old Alice Carroll realizes she can time travel when under extreme stress, a situation she is determined to learn to control in order to go back to the day of the shooting to save the lives of her teacher and classmates and to discover the identity of the woman who sacrificed herself so Alice could live.

We need your help deciding on which is the most striking cover. Vote for the cover mock-up that grabs your attention, and seems to best illustrate the tone and storyline. Which one would you be most likely to buy if you saw it on Amazon or in a book store? The poll closes at midnight on 6 April 16. Feel free to vote for your top 3 choices.

Thanking you in advance for your help,

EMSA Publishing.

Why you should be writing YA

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

I have a confession to make: I write YA.

When I set out of my writing odyssey, never once did I consider writing young adult fiction (or YA). But the more I taught teens, and the more I spoke with colleagues teaching English and in the library at school, the more curious I became about it.

And after writing two YA novels and finishing up a third, I have to admit, writing YA feels like coming home.

If you’ve never considered writing YA, here are three reasons why you should give the genre a try.

1. Everyone relates

Every single adult on the face of this earth was a young adult at one point in time. And while I may never have had to compete for my life in a game, or never attended wizard school, I can nevertheless relate. Writing YA forces me to think outside of my comfort zone, to a time when bullies scared me,  and I had to fight my parents for my independence, and I wanted to die after getting a huge, red and white zit on the tip of my nose. Writing YA brings me back to a time when even the smallest failure felt like a catastrophe. Now imagine being at a tender age and a part of a real catastrophe. Facing a major event you don’t understand from a heightened, hormonal point of view can’t help but make for an interesting story.

2. Shy away from nothing

Remember Judy Blume? She was popular in the seventies and eighties because she wrote about sexual awakening, acceptance in the family unit, and questioning your religion. Times have changed drastically since then. War continues to be a threat for some and a reality for so many. Terrorism, cyber-bullying, sexual predators, drugs and date rape are also reality in too many social spheres. YA fiction depicts teens coping in the modern world with issues that might send any sane adult into the corner to weep.  Seeing someone cope with their problems and emerge victorious can’t be anything but empowering for readers of all ages.

3. Writing YA is hard challenging

YA fiction is not a watered down version of its adult counterpart, and writing it is hard. Narratives have to be smart with endearing, quick-witted characters. Worlds have to be immersive. Storylines must be believable. If you take YA on as a challenge, you will go down in the annals of literature with the likes of JK Rowling, Veronica Roth, Jodi Picoult, Johm Green, and James Dashner—no small feat….if you are up to it.

What genre do you write in? Is your manuscript complete? Whether you write for middle-grade (8 – 12), young adults (12 – 18), new adults (18+) or just plain adults, EMSA Publishing wants to hear from you.