Tag Archives: young adult

Blog Tour Itinerary for GAZORE!

banner

A boring day at the mall turns into the adventure of a lifetime!  Doug and his brother Sebastian go into the Build-A-Creature store, but when the creature they build comes to life, they’re left behind to clean up the mess. Before they know it, they’re avoiding a creepy guy who seems to be everywhere and running from a GOT agent.  

Put on your helmet when reading Gazore! because you’re in for a bumpy ride full of chaotic hijinks, against the backdrop of a sweet romance. But it’s the healthy dose of verse in rhyme, that gives Gazore! it’s lasting charm.

EMSA Publishing is proud to announce the December 5, 2016 release of Gazore!, a contemporary fantasy adventure with creatures, humor and verse. Gazore! teaches responsibility—even though Doug didn’t really cause the calamity, it is his creature responsible, and Doug never runs. Instead, he uses his critical thinking skills to get the whole town out of their jam.  This book is perfect for young adult readers, and for adults to read to their school-age children. Fans of Build-A-Bear, and Dr. Seuss will love Gazore!

Follow Gazore!’s blog tour before December 10, 2016 to win one of three eCopies of the book below:

Will Hallewell’s Gazore! is scheduled for a December 4, 2016 release. Here’s the itinerary for the tour:

Participate in a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 free eCopies of Gazore! by Will Hallewell! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Itinerary for “WICKED TRUTHS”

wicked-truths-blog-banner

Michelle Areaux’s Wicked Truths: Book 3 of the Wicked Lies Series is scheduled for an October 1, 2016 release. Here’s the itinerary for the tour:

Participate in a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 free eCopies of Wicked Truths by Michelle Areaux! 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Blog Tour Itinerary for I WAS, AM, WILL BE ALICE

blog tour banner

Elise Abram‘s I Was, Am, Will Be Alice was released on July 12, 2016 release, and is now available in stores.

Here’s the itinerary so far:

Enter a Rafflecopter giveaway to win 1 of 3 eCopies of I Was, Am, Will Be Alice.

Why you should be writing YA

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

image from: http://goo.gl/nySNs7

I have a confession to make: I write YA.

When I set out of my writing odyssey, never once did I consider writing young adult fiction (or YA). But the more I taught teens, and the more I spoke with colleagues teaching English and in the library at school, the more curious I became about it.

And after writing two YA novels and finishing up a third, I have to admit, writing YA feels like coming home.

If you’ve never considered writing YA, here are three reasons why you should give the genre a try.

1. Everyone relates

Every single adult on the face of this earth was a young adult at one point in time. And while I may never have had to compete for my life in a game, or never attended wizard school, I can nevertheless relate. Writing YA forces me to think outside of my comfort zone, to a time when bullies scared me,  and I had to fight my parents for my independence, and I wanted to die after getting a huge, red and white zit on the tip of my nose. Writing YA brings me back to a time when even the smallest failure felt like a catastrophe. Now imagine being at a tender age and a part of a real catastrophe. Facing a major event you don’t understand from a heightened, hormonal point of view can’t help but make for an interesting story.

2. Shy away from nothing

Remember Judy Blume? She was popular in the seventies and eighties because she wrote about sexual awakening, acceptance in the family unit, and questioning your religion. Times have changed drastically since then. War continues to be a threat for some and a reality for so many. Terrorism, cyber-bullying, sexual predators, drugs and date rape are also reality in too many social spheres. YA fiction depicts teens coping in the modern world with issues that might send any sane adult into the corner to weep.  Seeing someone cope with their problems and emerge victorious can’t be anything but empowering for readers of all ages.

3. Writing YA is hard challenging

YA fiction is not a watered down version of its adult counterpart, and writing it is hard. Narratives have to be smart with endearing, quick-witted characters. Worlds have to be immersive. Storylines must be believable. If you take YA on as a challenge, you will go down in the annals of literature with the likes of JK Rowling, Veronica Roth, Jodi Picoult, Johm Green, and James Dashner—no small feat….if you are up to it.

What genre do you write in? Is your manuscript complete? Whether you write for middle-grade (8 – 12), young adults (12 – 18), new adults (18+) or just plain adults, EMSA Publishing wants to hear from you.